You are here:

Nominations open for the British Archaeology Awards

The 2016 British Archaeological Awards were launched in London on Monday, September 14. From this date on nominations have been open for the main awards to be presented on Monday 11 July 2016.

Nominations are being invited in the following categories:
•         Best Archaeological Project
•         Best Community Engagement Archaeology Project
•         Best Archaeological Book
•         Best Public Presentation of Archaeology
•         Best Archaeological Innovation

Archaeology includes industrial archaeology and all five awards are open for industrial archaeologists to enter – nominations must be received by 29 February 2016.

For more details see the British Archaeological Awards website:  //

A short extraordinary general meeting was held on September 14 to adjust the Constitution to bring it in line with Scottish legislation relating to Charities. This was followed by a splendid event: the British Archaeological Insights Seminar. We had eminent speakers covering a wide range of topics and this excellent innovation turned out to be quite an inspiring occasion, easily living up to its title. The British Archaeological Awards are biennial and it is intended to hold a similar seminar in 2017 and every ‘fallow’ year when no awards are made – good news indeed.

Robert Carr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment